Website banner for the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario

The Honourable Dave Levac, MPP (Brant)

Dave Levac was born and raised in the southwestern Ontario community of Brantford, where he continues to live with his wife, Rosemarie. They have three adult children.

After teaching elementary and secondary school for 12 years, Dave became an elementary school principal in 1989. In his capacity as a principal, Dave developed conflict resolution programs for which, among other accomplishments, he received a Distinguished Teacher Award in 1994.

In addition to his teaching career, Dave took an active leadership role in his community through involvement in a number of local non-profit organizations including the Heart & Stroke Foundation, the Canadian National Institute for the Blind, the United Way, and the Thank-A-Vet luncheon committee, the Parkinson Society of Canada, Multiple Sclerosis (MS) Brant and the Telephone City Car Show. He also founded and chaired the Friends of the Firefighters Committee, initiating a number of successful fundraising campaigns for the Brantford and Brant Fire Departments. In recognition for his community work, he was named Brant and Brantford’s Citizen of the Year by the Brantford Expositor newspaper in 1997.

First elected to the Ontario Legislature in 1999 as the MPP for the riding of Brant, Dave has since been re-elected four times. At the Legislature, he has held positions as the Public Safety & Security Critic, Chief Government Whip and Chair of the Cabinet's Education Committee and the Chair of the Economic, Environment, and Resources Policy Committee. He also served as the Parliamentary Assistant for the Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services and later, the Minister of Energy and Infrastructure.

During his career as a legislator, Dave was a member of two interparliamentary organizations: the Ontario-US Parliamentary Association and the Ontario-Quebec Parliamentary Association where he served as Vice-Chair.  He will remain an active member of both as Speaker.

Dave became Ontario’s 41st Speaker on November 21st, 2011, and was re-elected Speaker on July 2nd, 2014.  As well as presiding over the Legislature, Speaker Levac chairs the Board of Internal Economy. Composed of MPPs from the three political parties, this committee is responsible for all financial and administrative matters relating to the Legislative Assembly. The Speaker also has a diplomatic role, welcoming visiting dignitaries to the Legislative Building and representing Ontario's parliament both in Canada and abroad.

L'honorable Dave Levac, MPP (Brant)

Dave Levac est né et a grandi dans la communauté de Brantford dans le sud-ouest de l'Ontario, où il continue à vivre avec sa femme, Rosemarie. Ils ont trois enfants adultes.

Après avoir enseigné à l'école primaire et secondaire pendant 12 ans, Dave est devenu directeur d'école primaire en 1989. En sa qualité de directeur, Dave a développé des programmes de résolution de conflits pour lesquels, entre autres réalisations, il a reçu un Prix pour excellence en enseignement en 1994.

En plus de sa carrière d'enseignant, Dave a eu un rôle actif dans sa collectivité grâce à sa participation dans un certain nombre d’organismes locaux à but non lucratif, y compris la Fondation des maladies du cœur, l'Institut national canadien pour les aveugles, Centraide et le comité du déjeuner de remerciement aux anciens combattants, la Société Parkinson du Canada, l’organisme Sclérose en plaques (SP) de Brant et le « Telephone City Car Show » (Salon de l'automobile de la ville de Brant). Il a également fondé et présidé le comité Amis des pompiers et il a lancé un certain nombre de campagnes de financement pour les services d'incendie de Brantford et de Brant. Pour tout le travail effectué pour sa communauté, il a été nommé en 1997, par le journal Expositor de Brantford, Citoyen de l'année de Brant et de Brantford.

D'abord élu à l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario en 1999 comme député de la circonscription de Brant, Dave a depuis été réélu quatre fois. À l'Assemblée législative, il a occupé des postes comme porte-parole de la Sûreté et Sécurité publique, whip en chef du gouvernement et président du Comité de l'éducation du Conseil des ministres, ainsi que président du Comité de la politique économique, environnementale et des richesses naturelles. Il a aussi été l'adjoint parlementaire du ministre de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels et, plus tard, ministre de l'Énergie et de l'Infrastructure.

Au cours de sa carrière en tant que législateur, Dave a été membre de deux organisations interparlementaires: l'Association parlementaire Ontario—États-Unis et de l'Association parlementaire Ontario—Québec, où il a servi comme vice-président. Il restera un membre actif des deux en tant que Président.

Dave est devenu le 41e Président de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario le 21 novembre 2011 et il a été réélu Président le 2 juillet 2014. En plus de présider l’Assemblée, il préside la Commission de régie interne. Composé de députés des trois partis politiques, ce comité est responsable de toutes les questions financières et administratives relatives à l'Assemblée législative. Le Président a également un rôle diplomatique, car il accueille les dignitaires en visite à l’édifice de l’Assemblée législative et représente le parlement de l'Ontario, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger.